Carver County Historical Society

National Historic Landmarks in Minnesota

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are cultural properties designated by the Secretary of the Interior as being nationally significant. Acknowledged as among the nation's most significant historic places, these buildings, sites, districts, structures, and objects possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States in history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture. NHL designation is an official recognition by the federal government of the significance of historic properties. By 1999, almost 2,300 properties had been designated as National Historic Landmarks.

By definition, the almost 2,300 properties designated as National Historic Landmarks are the most significant places in American history-they illustrate and commemorate our collective past and help us to understand our national identity. National Historic Landmarks outstandingly represent and interpret the best and brightest and the most tragic aspects of our history. Through these Landmarks, all American can better understand and appreciate the broad trends and events, important person, great ideas and ideal, and valuable accomplishments in the arts and sciences, and humanities, that are truly significant in our history.

Source: National Register Bulletin: How to Prepare National Historic Landmark Nominations. U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service. National Register, History and Education-National Historic Landmarks Survey. 1999.


Minnesota's National Historic Landmarks

  • Fort Snelling Historic District, Twin Cities, Hennepin and Dakota Counties (12/19/60)
  • James J. Hill House, St. Paul, Ramsey County, (11/5/61)
  • Kathio Historic District, Kathio Township, Mille Lacs County (7/19/64)
  • Oliver Hudson Kelley Farmstead, Elk River, Sherburne County, (7/19/64)
  • Pillsbury A Mill, Minneapolis, Hennepin County, (11/13/66)
  • Hull-Rust-Mahoning Mine, Hibbing, St. Louis County, (11/13/66)
  • Soudan Mine, Breitung Township, St. Louis County, (11/13/66)
  • Saint Croix Boomsite, Stillwater Township, Washington County, (11/13/66)
  • Mountain Iron Mine, Mountain Iron, St. Louis County, (11/24/68)
  • Sinclair Lewis Childhood Home, Sauk Centre, Stearns County, (5/23/68)
  • 1914 Building & Plummer Building, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Olmsted County, (8/11/69)
  • O.E. Rolvaag House, Northfield, Rice County, (8/4/69)
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald House, St. Paul, Ramsey County, (11/11/71)
  • National Farmers' Bank of Owatonna, Owatonna, Steele County, (1/7/76)
  • Frank B. Kellogg House, St. Paul, Ramsey County, (12/8/76)
  • Charles A. Lindbergh House, Pike Creek Township, Morrison County, (12/8/76)
  • Andrew J. Volstead House, Granite Falls, Yellow Medicine County, (12/8/76)
  • Thomas Veblen Farmstead, Wheeling Township, Rice County, (12/21/81)
  • Peavy-Haglin Experimental Concrete Grain Elevator, St. Louis Park, Hennepin County, (12/21/81)
  • Washburn A Mill Complex, Minneapolis, Hennepin County, (5/4/83)
  • St. Croix Recreational Demonstration Area, Pine County, (9/25/97)
  • Rabideau Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Camp, Taylor Township (Chippewa National Forest), Beltrami County (2/17/06)
  • Christ Church Lutheran, Minneapolis, Hennepin County (1/16/09)
  • Split Rock Light Station, Beaver Bay Township, Lake County (6/23/11)
  • Grand Mound, Koochiching County (6/23/11)